Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205

D205 Logo_reverse_vector
York High School main entrance_2

Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205 currently serves more than 8,000 students who reside primarily in the City of Elmhurst and small portions of Oak Brook, Bensenville and Addison. Approximately 90 percent of students live in Elmhurst with the remainder living outside of the City, but within the District 205 boundaries. (District boundaries are NOT contiguous with City boundaries.) At present, District 205 maintains fourteen schools (eight elementary schools, three middle schools, York Community High School, a Transition Program and the Madison Early Childhood Education Center).

District 205 faculty represent some of the finest and best-qualified teachers in the State of Illinois. With 64.8 percent holding an advanced degree, they provide the knowledge, dedication and educational leadership that are critical to the success of District 205 students. They are at the forefront of curriculum development, taking a leadership role in many areas and at various levels - county, state and national.

District 205 students consistently perform well above state averages on all standardized tests. The ACT average composite score for the Class of 2016 is 24.3. In the area of extra curricular activities, more than 80% of York Community High School students participate in at least one extracurricular activity, with distinguished students/teams in cross country, law, business, vocational skills, mathematics, theater performance, art and music—to name a few.

For more information, visit www.elmhurst205.org